Connect with us

IndyCar Series

By the Numbers: IndyCar Harvest GP

Tunnel 10 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. PHOTO: Chris Owens via IMS Media.

Inching closer to another title, Scott Dixon has a 72-point cushion over Josef Newgarden entering the IndyCar Harvest GP

The NTT IndyCar Series season is winding down with just three races left, two of them coming this weekend. The Indy Harvest GP doubleheader could crown Scott Dixon as the champion, his sixth, before the finale in St. Petersburg. Even if he doesn’t clinch at Indy, he has some history on his side.

Since 2008, the driver who was the points leader with three races to go has won the championship seven times. Dixon has two of them in 2008 and 2018. The others were Dario Franchitti in 2011, Will Power in 2014, Simon Pagenaud in 2016, and Josef Newgarden in 2017 and 2019.

Dixon could earn the rare distinction of being the first NTT INDYCAR SERIES driver to win three races in one year at the Racing Capital of the World with a sweep of the IndyCar Harvest GP presented by GMR doubleheader.

The inaugural event will take place on the Indianapolis 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course, so there is no defending champion. Twenty-five drivers hope to be the first titleholder in Race 1 Friday night, and Race 2 will close out more than 390-miles of racing. Here is a year-by-year breakdown of the title chase since 2008:






2008 Scott Dixon Helio Castroneves


Scott Dixon
2009 Ryan Briscoe Dario Franchitti


Dario Franchitti
2010 Will Power Dario Franchitti


Dario Franchitti
2011 Dario Franchitti Will Power


Dario Franchitti
2012 Will Power Ryan Hunter-Reay


Ryan Hunter-Reay
2013 Helio Castroneves Scott Dixon


Scott Dixon
2014 Will Power Helio Castroneves


Will Power
2015 Juan Pablo Montoya Graham Rahal


Scott Dixon
2016 Simon Pagenaud Will Power


Simon Pagenaud
2017 Josef Newgarden Scott Dixon


Josef Newgarden
2018 Scott Dixon Alexander Rossi


Scott Dixon
2019 Josef Newgarden Alexander Rossi


Josef Newgarden
2020 Scott Dixon Josef Newgarden



SEE: NASCAR, INDYCAR team up for Brickyard weekend

Of the twenty-five drivers entered in the IndyCar Harvest GP, only Dixon, Pagenaud, and Power have won on the Indy road course. Pagenaud won the inaugural race in 2014, 2016 and 2019; Power won the race in 2015, 2017 and 2018. Dixon won the GMR Grand Prix earlier this season. There are no IMS road course rookies in the field as they have all turned laps at the track.

For the first time this year, a limited number of fans will be allowed to see the race live. Up to 10,000 spectators can be in the grandstands each day of racing action Oct. 1-4, per approval from the Marion County Public Health Department. The Brickyard will provide two spectator zones with up to 5,000 fans in each. The zones will be located in Turns 1 and 4 of the oval, offering strong road course sightlines. Strict health and safety rules will be in place, including mandatory face coverings, temperature screenings before gate entry, social distancing in grandstands and other areas, and more.

For the first time in the 111-year history of the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway, a major auto racing event will occur at the track in October.

Here is a look at the IndyCar Harvest GP – By the Numbers

RACE NUMBER: 12/13 of 14

WHAT: IndyCar Harvest GP
WHERE: Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course
WHEN: Fri., Oct. 2 @ 4:00 p.m. ET / Sat. Oct. 3 @ 2:30 p.m. ET
TV/RADIO: Race 1 (USA Network), Race 2 (NBC) / Sirius 211, XM 205,

TRACK SIZE: 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course (clockwise)
PUSH TO PASS PARAMETERS: 200 seconds of total time, with a maximum time of 20 seconds per activation
RACE LENGTH: 85 laps / 207.35 miles (Race 1); 75 laps / 182.925 miles (Race 2)


IndyCar Harvest GP
Friday: Partly to mostly cloudy. High 59F. Winds NW at 5 to 10 mph.
Saturday: Intervals of clouds and sunshine. High around 60F. Winds light and variable.


FIRST RACE: August 19, 1909
OWNER: Penske Corporation
NICKNAMES: The Brickyard

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement Signup for GameFly today to get the latest PS4, Xbox and Nintendo Switch games!

More Posts

More in IndyCar Series

Bottleless Water Coolers