Connect with us

Gander Truck Series

Brett Moffitt moves on to the final four with Kansas Speedway win

Brett Moffitt and Sheldon Creed
Brett Moffitt and and Sheldon Creed walk to their trucks before the Clean Harbors 200, and they found themselves fighting it out for the win at Kansas Speedway. Credit: 368900Chris Graythen | Getty Images via NASCAR Media

Having finished second four times, Brett Moffitt notches his first win in the Clean Harbors 200 at Kansas Speedway

As the Gander Truck Series Round of 8 kicked off at Kansas Speedway, no one could clinch a spot in the championship four unless they found the winner’s circle. Brett Moffitt did just that with a victory in the Clean Harbors 200 Saturday afternoon. He has been a runner-up four times this season, thrice to teammates, but in winning his first race of the season, he will not get a chance to run for the title in three weeks in Phoenix.

Moffitt and teammate Zane Smith went door to door in the final laps, and with minimal contact, Smith went into a slide and was unable to get his truck straightened out. It brought out a caution that would result in a two-lap shootout for the win. Moffitt got a great restart getting some help from Sheldon Creed. Instead of fighting off one teammate in Smith, he would have to do it with another, beating Creed by a minuscule 0.111-seconds. Smith finished P11, the last truck on the lead lap.

Rounding out the top five were Austin Hill, Grant Enfinger, and Chandler Smith. Hailie Deegan making her first-ever trucks start P16. It was the best finish by a woman in her debut race.

The standings are as follows: Above the cut line is Moffitt with the victory, Sheldon Creed (+26), Austin Hill (+19), and Zane Smith (+7). Those heading to Texas below it are Grant Enfinger (-7), Matt Crafton (-15), Ben Rhodes (-33), and Tyler Ankrum (-56). Ankrum was out of the race early, involved in a wreck.


LAP 1 (of 134 – 201 miles): All trucks cleared tech inspection. Teams have four sets of tires, and there will be no competition caution. Chandler Smith (No. 51 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota – pole) and Ben Rhodes (No. 99 ThorSport Racing Ford) lead the field of 36 to the green flag. 19-year old Hailie Deegan made her national series debut and rolled off P34 in the No. 17 DGR-Crosley Ford (she will race full time for the team in 2021. Green flag 4:08 p.m. ET. Sheldon Creed led the opening lap.

LAP 30: End Stage 1. Clean and green throughout. Sheldon Creed jumped out to the lead on the first lap and stayed there until he took the green/white checkers for his eighth stage win of the season. Hailie Deegan, who had moved up to P25, but lost a lap. She got it back as the Lucky Dog. All the leaders pit to take on four fresh Goodyears and fuel. Creed lost two spots with Austin Hill and Zane Smith both gaining two in the race off pit row. The biggest winners were Grant Enfinger and Todd Gilliland (+3), while Chandler Smith and Christian Eckes lost three. Austin Hill (leader) and Zane Smith restarted on the front row.


LAP 37: Five trucks involved in a wreck that became a **RED FLAG** Brett Moffitt got loose after Raphael Lessard tapped him, sending him into playoff driver Tyler Ankrum. Others involved were David Gravel, a World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series veteran making only his second career start, Parker Kligerman, and Tanner Gray. Ankrum began the day seeded eighth in the Round of 8 and was unable to continue. Red Flag time was 7 minutes, 33 seconds. Officials held Ben Rhodes on pit row for having too many men over the pit wall on his stop. He restarted two laps in arrears. Danny Bohn got the free pass.

LAP 60: End Stage 2. Sheldon Creed sweeps both stages after passing teammate Zane Smith on Lap 54. Tyler Ankrum, who was involved in the Lap 37 accident, will finish P34. Playoff contender Ben Rhodes was P26 at the end of the stage. He took the waver around and is not just one lap down. Top-seeded Austin Hill had contact with Christian Eckes and had to come back to pit row, unable to get up to speed. Repairs made, he is the last truck on the lead lap on the restart, but complaining about a vibration. Colin Garrett is back on the lead lap with the free pass. Trevor Bayne moves into the top-10.


LAP 131: Teammates running side by side with three laps to go, and they touch. Zane Smith and Brett Moffit were dueling to advance to the next round, but Smith went into a slide and could not get his truck straightened out. Even with a set of tires available to them, the leaders stayed out, and the top-five will restart with Moffit on point. Enfinger, Creed, Eckes, and Crafton round out the top-five. Eckes is the only non-playoff driver. Moffitt got a great restart and held off Sheldon Creed for the victory.


1 – Sheldon Creed, Chandler Smith, Austin Hill, Zane Smith, Matt Crafton, Christian Eckes, Grant Enfinger, Johnny Sauter, Brett Moffitt, Todd Gilliland
2 – Sheldon Creed, Zane Smith, Chandler Smith, Christian Eckes, Austin Hill, Matt Crafton, Johnny Sauter, Brett Moffitt, Grant Enfinger

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Advertisement Signup for GameFly today to get the latest PS4, Xbox and Nintendo Switch games!

More Posts

More in Gander Truck Series

Bottleless Water Coolers